Legacy Archive

Archive records quick link

---- YEARBOOK ----

Volume IV

Season 1913-1914 Meetings

24th Meeting of the club

Fourth Dinner of the Season 1912-1913

Mr. Frederick A. Delano, President, Wabash Railroad
Mr. Austin Bruce Garretson, President, Order of Railway Conductors of America
Mr. Benjamin Franklin Bush, President, Missouri Pacific Railroad
Prof. William Ripley, Professor of Political Economy, Harvard University

Are the Railroads Fairly Treated?

23rd Meeting of the club

Excellency Count Johann von Bernstoff, Ambassador of Germany to the United States
Hon. William J. Gaynor, Mayor of the City of New York
Hon. Rudolph Blankenburg, Mayor of Philadelphia
Hon. Henry T. Hunt, Mayor of Cincinnati

Efficient City Government

22nd Meeting of the club

Second Dinner of the Season 1912-1913

Mr. William G. Burns, Former officer of the U.S. Secret Service
Mr. A. Leo Weil, President, Voters League
Mr. Fred Kohler, Chief of Police of Cleveland

Problems of Police Administration

21st Meeting of the club

Mr. Louis Dembitz Brandeis, Attorney from Boston
Dr. Charles R. Van Hise, President, University of Wisconsin
Chairman, New York Board of Arbitration
Dr. Talcott Williams, Dean, School of Journalism, Columbia University
Former Editor, Philadelphia Press

The Regulation of Competition Versus The Regulation of Monopoly

---- YEARBOOK ----

Volume III

Season 1912-1913 Meetings

Twentieth Meeting

Fifth Year Anniversary Dinner

Mr. William H. Lincoln, President of the Boston Economic Club
Mr. Henry Clews, Co-founder of the Economic Club of New York
Hon. Woodrow Wilson, Governor of New Jersey

Politics and Business

Nineteenth Meeting

William Allen White, Editor of the Emporia Gazette (Kansas)
Frederick P. Fish, Formerly President American Bell Telephone Company
Lewis J. Johnson, Professor of Engineering, Harvard University
Hon. Theodore E. Burton, Senator from Ohio

The Initiative, Referendum and Recall In Relation To Representative Government

1911 The Honorable William Howard Taft

President of the United States

The Arbitration Treaties

Seventeenth Meeting

Hon. Albert Baird Cummins, Senator from Iowa
Samuel Untermyer, Of The New York Bar
Dr. James R. Day, Chancellor of Syracuse University
Hon. Martin W. Littleton, Member of Congress from New York

Government Regulation of Trusts,
With Special Reference to the Sherman Act

---- YEARBOOK ----

Volume II

Season 1911-1912 Meetings

Sixteenth Meeting

Baron D'estournelles De Constant, Member of the French Senate; President of the Association for International Conciliation
Hamilton Holt, Editor of the Independent
Hudson Maxim, Inventor, Mechanical Engineer, Author
Hon. Samuel J. Elder, Senior Counsel in the Fisheries Arbitration with Great Britain

International Arbitration, Its Economic and Political Aspects

Fifteenth Meeting of the club

Frank B. Gilbreth, Contractor and Builder
James O. Fagan, Railroad Signalman
Author, "Confessions of a Railroad Signalman"
Henry R. Towne, President of the Merchants' Association
Harrington Emerson, Efficiency Engineer; Author of Efficiency, Etc.
James Duncan, Secretary-Treasurer of the Granite Cutters' InterĀ­ National Association
Louis D. Brandeis, Of the Boston Bar

The New Conception of Industrial Efficiency

Fourteenth Meeting

Henry Wade Rogers, Dean of the Law School, Yale University
Dr. Louis Livingston Seaman, Major-Surgeon, U. S. Volunteer Engineers
Lieutenant-General Nelson A. Miles, U.S.A., Senior Commanding Officer, U.S. A., From 1895 To 1903
Henry Reuterdahl, Naval Artist and Author
Hon. J. Warren Keifer, Member of Congress from Ohio
Formerly Speaker of the House of Representatives

Should The Panama Canal Be Fortified?

Thirteenth Meeting

Hon. Frederic J. Stimson, Of the Boston Bar
Albert Bushnell Hart, Professor of History in Harvard University
Hon. Frank B. Kellogg, Formerly Special Counsel for the United States Government
Melancthon Woolsey Stryker, President of Hamilton College

Is Further Concentration Of Power In The Federal Government Desirable?

Twelfth Meeting of the club

Henry M. Whitney, Formerly President of the Boston Chamber Of Commerce
Hon. Wallace Nesbitt, K.C., Formerly Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada
D. Lorne McGibbon, President of the Canadian Consolidated Rubber Company
Hon. Charles S. Hamlin, Formerly Assistant Secretary Of The Treasury

Our Commercial Relations With Canada

Eleventh Meeting

Austen G. Fox, Of The New York Bar
Hon. Lawson Purdy, President of the Department of Taxes and Assessments of New York City
William D. Guthrie, Of the New York Bar
Hon. William E. Borah, United States Senator from Idaho

Should The Pending Amendment To The Constitution, Permitting A Federal Income Tax, Be Adopted?

Tenth Meeting of the club

Address of Francis Lynde Stetson, president of the New York City Bar Association, opening the Economic Club dinner at hotel Astor.

Hon. Judson C. Clements, Of The Interstate Commerce Commission, Washington
Hon. William McCarroll, Of The Public Service Commission of New York State
Walker Downer Hines, Acting Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad
Emory R. Johnson, Professor of Transportation and Commerce in the University Of Pennsylvania

The Federal Supervision of Railroad Corporations
Government Regulation of Railroad Corporations

1909 Nelson Aldrich

United States Senator from Rhode Island

The Work of the National Monetary Commission

Eight Meeting

Hon. Theodore P. Shonts, President of the Interborough Rapid Transit Company; Formerly Chairman of the Panama Canal Commission
Henry R. Towne, President of the Merchants' Association of New York; President of the Yale and Towne Manufacturing Company
Kenyon Cox, Artist, Author
Hon. W. Bourke Cockran, New York

Tariff Problems

Search by year at the top of the page