Legacy Archive

Archive records quick link


Jean Tirole

Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences, Chairman, Toulouse School of Economics (TSE)

Wednesday, June 20, 2018


Regulating the Digital Economy: US-EU perspectives

Barbara Van Allen, President, ECNY

Jean Tirole is chairman of the Foundation Jean-Jacques Laffont-Toulouse School of Economics (TSE), and scientific director of the Institute for Industrial Economics (IDEI), University of Toulouse Capitole. He is also affiliated with MIT, where he holds a visiting position, the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), and with the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse (IAST), which he co-founded in 2011. He is ingénieur général des ponts, des eaux et des forêts. Before moving to Toulouse in 1991, he was professor of economics at MIT. He was president of the Econometric Society in 1998 and of the European Economic Association in 2001.

Professor Tirole's research covers industrial organization, regulation, finance, macroeconomics and banking, and psychology-based economics.

Jean Tirole has given over eighty distinguished lectures and has published about two hundred articles in economics and finance, as well as twelve scientific books. His latest work, entitled Economics for the Common Good, published in 2016 in French, is under translation into a number of other languages.

He received his PhD in economics from MIT in 1981, engineering degrees from Ecole Polytechnique, Paris (1976) and from Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussees, Paris (1978) and a "Doctorat de 3eme cycle" in decision mathematics from the University Paris IX (1978).

He holds Honorary Doctorate degrees from the Free University in Brussels (1989), the London Business School (2007), HEC Montreal (2007), the University of Mannheim (2011), the Athens School of Business and Economics (2012), the University of Rome 2 (2012), Hitotsubashi University (2013), Université de Lausanne (2013), EUI Florence (2015) and Luis U. Rome (2015).

Among other prizes and honors, he received the Yrjö Jahnsson prize of the European Economic Association (granted every other year to an economist under the age of 45 who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe) in 1993, the gold medal of the CNRS in 2007 (the second economist, after Allais in 1978, to receive this medal, attributed to one researcher every year since 1954), and was the inaugural winner of the BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in economics, finance and management in 2008. He received the CME-MSRI award and the Levi-Strauss prize in 2010 and the Ross prize in 2013.

He is the laureate of the 2014 Nemmers prize in economics and received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in the same year. He is a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1993) and of the American Economic Association (1993). He was elected to Allais' chair at the French Academie des Sciences Morales et Politiques in 2011.

Search by year at the top of the page