The Economic Club was founded in 1907 by J.W. Beatson, Secretary of the National Economic League in Boston, and four business leaders from New York City. Its founders sought to follow the successful example of the Economic Clubs of Boston, Providence, Worcester, Portland, Springfield, and New Haven with the aim of bringing business people and professionals together for serious discussions of economic, social and other public issues in a non-partisan forum.

As defined by the Club's founders, the issues for discussion were ones of "live and practical interest" and speakers were to be of national reputation. For a century, the Club has been a prominent forum in which leading figures from a variety of fields can present their thoughts and analyses on issues of vital national and international concern to an audience of great influence in America's business, financial, and professional life.

The Club has been host to over 1,000 eminent leaders at its speaker's dais, and the stature, caliber, and variety of speakers has become a tradition. Our audiences have heard from future, current, and past presidents of the United States: Woodrow Wilson, William H. Taft, Hebert Hoover, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan, and George H.W. Bush. Among the many distinguished foreign leaders to address the Club have been Winston Churchill, Mikhail Gorbachev, Indira Ghandi, Margaret Thatcher, Yitzak Rabin, Corizon Aquino, and Zhu Rongji.

Other Guests of Honor have included central bankers, justices of the Supreme Court, secretaries general of the United Nations, governors and heads of international business enterprises, as well as many key cabinet members, military leaders, ambassadors, and scientific innovators.

The Club also has a long tradition of selecting outstanding leaders to guide the organization itself. Its membership represents a remarkable cross-section of the nation's business, financial, and public policy world: lawyers, bankers, industrialists, political figures, the news media, diplomats - persons bringing to it a wide variety of experience, insight and attainment.


Chairmen of the Club

1907-1909 A. Barton Hepburn 1909-1910 Francis Lynde Stetson
1910-1912 John G. Milburn 1912-1914 James Speyer
1914-1916 William R. Wilcox 1916-1918 Frank A. Vanderlip
1918-1920 Henry Morgenthau 1920-1922 George W. Wickersham
1922-1924 William Church Osborn 1924-1926 Howard Elliott
1926-1928 Walker D. Hines 1928-1930 Nathan L. Miller
1930-1932 Samuel McRoberts 1932-1934 Thomas J. Watson
1934-1936 James P. Warburg 1936-1938 Paul D. Cravath
1938-1940 Wendell L. Willkie 1940-1942 David Sarnoff
1942-1944 Winthrop W. Aldrich 1944-1946 Thomas I. Parkinson
1946-1948 Theodore M. Riehle 1948-1950 Alfred P. Sloan, Jr.
1950-1952 Juan T. Trippe 1952-1954 Austin S. Igleheart
1954-1956 H.E. Humphreys, Jr. 1956-1957 William L. Kleitz
1958-1959 Roy T. Hurley 1959-1961 Herbert B. Woodman
1961-1963 Kenneth C. Royall 1963-1964 Arthur K. Watson
1964-1965 Monroe E. Spaght 1965-1966 Alfred Hayes
1966-1967 Norman H. Strouse 1967-1968 William M. Batten
1968-1969 Jesse Werner 1969-1970 Gavin K. MacBain
1970-1971 Robert V. Roosa 1971-1972 Augustine R. Marusi
1972-1974 George R. Vila 1974-1975 Charles C. Tillinghast, Jr.
1975-1976 J. Paul Lyet 1976-1977 James W. Davant
1977-1979 Francis J. Dunleavy 1979-1981 Edmund T. Pratt, Jr.
1981-1983 Peter G. Peterson 1983-1985 F. Ross Johnson
1985-1987 Dwayne O. Andreas 1987-1990 Rand V. Araskog
1990-1992 Richard A. Voell 1992-1994 Donald B. Marron
1994-1996 John M. Hennessy 1996-2000 William J. McDonough
2000-2002 Richard A. Grasso 2003-2007 Barbara Hackman Franklin
2007-2010 R. Glenn Hubbard 2010-2012 Andrew H. Tisch
2012-2014 Roger W. Ferguson, Jr. 2014-2016 William C. Dudley 
  2016-present Terry J. Lundgren

Stay Connected